Laws and Regulations

Financial Laws
Mortgage Law No. 148 of 2001 provides a regulatory framework for issuance of mortgages by bank and non-bank institutions and regulates the securitization of mortgages in order to increase trading activity in the stock market. Borrowers will be able to make a 20 per cent down payment and pay off the remainder in installments over 20-30 years. Middle-income families will be the main beneficiaries of the new law.
Download File
In May 2002, the People's Assembly agreed with an overwhelming majority to pass Egypt's first-ever law against money laundering, Law No. 80 of 2002. The law reflects the government's rising concern about the danger of this phenomenon and its detrimental effect on Egypt's economy as well as concerns expressed by the OECD Financial Action Task Force (FATF) on Money Laundering.
Download File
The insurance market is regulated and supervised by Law No. 10 of 1981 and its amendments (Law No. 156 of 1998 and Law No. 91 of 1995). Since 1996, tariffs on insurance have been almost entirely eliminated, thereby reducing insurance premiums significantly. According to this law the private sector is permitted to own up to 100 per cent of the shares of an Egyptian insurance company that is fully owned by the government. This provision applies to both local and foreign private investors. The Egyptian Insurance Supervisory Authority (EISA) is an independent authority (affiliated with the Ministry of Investment) charged with supervising and controlling insurance activities. EISA’s main duties are to protect the rights of policyholders, beneficiaries and third parties and to maintain law and order in the market.
Download File
Law No. 97 of 2005 amends articles of Law No. 53 of 1973 in order to improve the methodology of presenting the budget, in particular to reclassify 77 items in such a way as to increase transparency, distinguish between different types of revenues and separate them from the sources available for financing budget insufficiency. The law improves the method of presenting the details and aggregates of public expenditure
Download File
Overview The Banking Law No. 88 of 2003 (Central Bank, Banking Sector and Monetary System) regulates the Central Bank of Egypt and the banking sector, dealings in foreign exchange, accounts secrecy and private ownership of public sector banks. The law strengthens banking prudential regulations, raises minimum capital requirements for banks and foreign exchange bureaus and reiterates the government's authority to privatize public sector banks. The executive statutes of the Banking Law were passed in March 2004.
Download File
The Central Registration and Depository Law No. 93 of 2000 provides for the creation of a licensed Central Depository to issue deeds that can be used instead of material shares.
Download File
The Capital Market Law No. 95 of 1992 regulates the capital markets in Egypt and grants the Capital Market Authority (CMA) the legal authority and status necessary to ensure the effective execution and enforcement of securities market legislation and regulation
Download File

Share On

القوانين واللوائح

القوانين المالية
يقدم قانون الرهن العقاري رقم 148 لسنة 2001 إطاراً تنظيمياً لإصدار صكوك الرهن العقاري عن طريق المؤسسات البنكية وغير البنكية، كما ينظم توريق الرهون العقارية بهدف زيادة النشاط التجاري في سوق الأوراق المالية. يمكن هذا القانون المقترضين من دفع 20% دفعة أولى والباقي يسدد على أقساط لمدة تتراوح بين عشرين وثلاثين عاما. تعتبر العائلات متوسطة الدخل أكبر المستفيدين من القانون الجديد.
في مايو 2002، وافق مجلس الشعب بغالبية ساحقة على تمرير أول قانون مصري لمكافحة غسيل الأموال يحمل رقم 80 لسنة 2002. يعكس القانون قلق الحكومة المتزايد نتيجة خطر هذه الظاهرة وتأثيرها الضار على الاقتصاد المصري ومخاوف مجموعة العمل المالي الدولية لمكافحة غسيل الأموال التابعة لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية
يقوم القانون رقم 10 لسنة 1981 وتعديلاته (القانون رقم 156 لسنة 1998 والقانون رقم 91 لسنة 1995) بتنظيم والإشراف على سوق التأمين. تم إلغاء مصاريف التأمين تقريبا منذ عام 1996، مما قلل أقساط التأمين بشكل ملحوظ. يحق للقطاع الخاص، بموجب لهذا القانون، امتلاك 100% من أسهم أي شركة تامين مصرية مملوكة بالكامل للحكومة. وتنطبق هذه الفقرة على مستثمري القطاع الخاص المصريين والأجانب. تعتبر الهيئة المصرية للرقابة على التأمين هيئة مستقلة (تابعة لوزارة الاستثمار) مكلفة بالإشراف والرقابة على الأنشطة التأمينية. وتعد حماية حقوق حملة وثائق التأمين والمستفيدين والأطراف الثالثة والمحافظة على القانون والنظام في السوق أهم مهام الهيئة المصرية للرقابة على التأمين.
يقوم القانون رقم 97 لسنة 2005 بتعديل مواد القانون رقم 53 لسنة 1973 وذلك لتحسين طريقة عرض الموازنة، وخاصة إعادة تصنيف 77 بند بطريقة ما لزيادة الشفافية والتفريق بين الأنواع المختلفة للإيرادات وفصلهم عن المصادر المتاحة لتمويل عجز الموازنة. يقوم القانون بتحسين طريقة عرض تفاصيل وإجمالي النفقات العامة.
ينص قانون الإيداع والقيد المركزي للأوراق المالية رقم 93 لسنة 2000 على إنشاء هيئة مرخصة للإيداع المركزي لتقوم بإصدار صكوك لاستخدامها بدلا من الأسهم المادية.
ينظم قانون سوق المال رقم 95 لسنة 1992 أسواق المال في مصر ويعطي هيئة سوق المال السلطة القانونية والوضع الشرعي اللازم لضمان التنفيذ الفعال لقوانين ولوائح سوق الأوراق المالية.
يقوم قانون المصارف رقم 88 لسنة 2003 (البنك المركزي والقطاع المصرفي والنظام المالي) بتنظيم البنك المركزي المصري والقطاع المصرفي والمعاملات في النقد الأجنبي وسرية الحسابات والملكية الخاصة لبنوك القطاع العام. يشدد القانون من الإجراءات البنكية التدبيرية ويرفع الحد الأدنى من متطلبات رأس المال للبنوك ومكاتب الصرافة ويؤكد على سلطة الحكومة في خصخصة بنوك القطاع العام. تم إصدار اللائحة التنفيذية لقانون المصارف في مارس 2004.

شارك على